ASSW 2025 Hosts

The Arctic Science Summit Week (ASSW) 2025 will be organized from 20 - 28 March 2025 in Boulder, Colorado (USA) by the International Arctic Science Committee (IASC) and hosted by the University of Colorado Boulder in collaboration with the U.S. National Academies’ Polar Research Board and other partners.


About the Organisers:

 IASC logo The International Arctic Science Committee (IASC) is a non-governmental, international scientific organisation. The Founding Articles committed IASC to pursue a mission of encouraging and facilitating cooperation in all aspects of Arctic research, in all countries engaged in Arctic research and in all areas of the Arctic region. Overall, IASC promotes and supports leading-edge interdisciplinary research in order to foster a greater scientific understanding of the Arctic region and its role in the Earth system. 

The University of Colorado Boulder (CU Boulder) is one of the U.S.’s leading public research universities, focused on creating global impact through research by cultivating and supporting collaboration, transformation and leadership. CU Boulder is home to several Arctic research organizations, including the Cooperative Institute for Research in Environmental Sciences (CIRES), the National Snow and Ice Data Center (NSIDC), and the Institute for Arctic and Alpine Research (INSTAAR).

Scan The U.S. National Academies’ Polar Research Board (PRB), established in 1958, exists to promote excellence in polar science and to provide independent scientific guidance to federal agencies and the nation on science issues in the Arctic, the Antarctic, and cold regions in general. The PRB serves as the U.S. National Committee for the International Arctic Science Committee (IASC) and for the Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research (SCAR) of the International Science Council (ISC), and thus it ensures that the U.S. polar research community participates in critical planning activities and encourages international cooperation.
 cireslogo cc The Cooperative Institute for Research In Environmental Sciences (CIRES) at CU Boulder is home to more than 900 people who work to understand the dynamic Earth system, including people’s relationship with the planet. As a cooperative institute with the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) since 1967, CIRES has expertise that include weather and climate, wildfire and water, changes at Earth’s poles, air quality and atmospheric chemistry, water resources, solid Earth sciences, and more.
NSIDC logo 2018 web  The National Snow and Ice Data Center (NSIDC) at CU Boulder, created in 1976, works to improve understanding of how the cryosphere is changing, forecasting of what the impacts of these changes will be, and global awareness of the importance of the cryosphere. From the physical sciences to the social sciences, NSIDC scientists work on a diverse mixture of research projects that focus on various aspects of the cryosphere and how it impacts society, including snow, glaciers, ice caps, ice sheets, sea ice, permafrost, and more.
 PSECCO Logo The Polar Scientist Early Career Community Office (PSECCO) at CU Boulder is a community-building and community-support organization for polar early career scientists, funded by U.S. National Science Foundation. PSECCO’s mission is to empower and elevate early career scientists in the polar sciences, support a vibrant community, provide opportunities and resources, offer skill trainings and work together towards a more just, inclusive, diverse, equitable and accessible polar science environment.
 ARCTICenter Logo The ARCTICenter at the University of Northern Iowa (UNI) provides research, educational and outreach programs related to the Arctic, administers research grants, and provides research and educational experiences for diverse students from across UNI. The ARCTICenter serves as a leading national hub for polar, remote, and cold regions interdisciplinary research and is the previous headquarters for the International Arctic Social Sciences Association (IASSA).